×

TYPE IN YOUR SEARCH AND PRESS ENTER

Loading...
Things To Do

The Summer Movie Line Up Has Been Announced For Astoria and LIC

Bianca Bahamondes Bianca Bahamondes

The Summer Movie Line Up Has Been Announced For Astoria and LIC
Brooklyn isn’t the only trendy borough when it comes to free summer time activities.

Queens is pretty much the new hip hot spot and we all know it. This summer, Astoria and Long Island City are putting out their own summer film series.  The parks are on rotation throughout the summer ranging from the Astoria Park’s Great Lawn to Randall’s Island Park, to Socrates Sculpture Park in Long Island City.

The line up is pretty family friendly and should be a great and free way to get outdoors. Check out it out below:

June

Friday, June 7: Bohemian Rhapsody

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, about 8:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: APA Presents Movies Under the Stars)

Friday, June 7: Queens Filmmakers: A Night of Shorts

Where: Lou Lodati Playground, 7 p.m. pre-movie activities. Films begin at nightfall (about 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Sunnyside Outdoor Movie Nights)

Saturday, June 8: Mary Poppins Returns

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8:30-10:35 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Friday, June 14

The Muppets Take Manhattan 

Where: Noonan Playground, 7 p.m. pre-movie activities. Films begin at nightfall (about 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Sunnyside Outdoor Movie Nights)

Saturday, June 15: Black Panther

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8:30-10:35 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Saturday, June 22: Crazy Rich Asians

Where: Hunter’s Point South Park, Sunset (around 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Cinema LIC)

 

July

Wednesday, July 3: Cielo (Canada/Chile)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Wednesday, July 10: Purple Noon

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Sunday, July 14: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8:30-10:35 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Wednesday, July 17: Anbessa (Ethiopia/Italy)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Thursday, July 18: Dirty Dancing

Where: Hunter’s Point South Park, Sunset (around 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Cinema LIC)

Monday, July 22: Singin’ in the Rain

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, 8:15-10:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: Movies on the Waterfront)

Wednesday, July 24: The Story of the Weeping Camel (Germany/Mongolia)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Friday, July 26: Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse

Where: Lou Lodati Playground, 7 p.m. pre-movie activities. Films begin at nightfall (about 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Sunnyside Outdoor Movie Nights)

Sunday, July 28: Tangled

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8:30-10:35 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Advertisement

Monday, July 29: Clueless

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, 8:15-10:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: Movies on the Waterfront)

Wednesday, July 31: En El Septimo Dia (USA)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

 

August

Monday, August 5: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, 8:15-10:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: Movies on the Waterfront)

Wednesday, August 7: Dark Toons (Europe)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Sunday, August 11: Crazy Rich Asians

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Monday, August 12: The Incredibles 2

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, 8:15-10:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: Movies on the Waterfront)

Wednesday, August 14: La Cienaga (Argentina)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

Thursday, August 15: Jaws

Where: Hunter’s Point South Park, Sunset (around 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Cinema LIC)

Friday, August 16: Coco

Where: Noonan Playground, 7 p.m. pre-movie activities. Films begin at nightfall (about 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Sunnyside Outdoor Movie Nights)

Sunday, August 18: Ralph Breaks the Internet

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 8 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Monday, August 19: The Godfather

Where: Astoria Park Great Lawn, 8:15-10:15 p.m.

(Hosted by: Movies on the Waterfront)

Wednesday, August 21: March of the Penguins (France)

Where: Socrates Sculpture Park, 7 p.m. Cultural Performances & Food Offerings. Film Begins at Nightfall

(Hosted by: Outdoor Cinema International Film Festival)

 

September

Friday, September 6: West Side Story

Where: Noonan Playground, 7 p.m. pre-movie activities. Films begin at nightfall (about 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Sunnyside Outdoor Movie Nights)

Saturday, September 7: Mary Poppins Returns

Where: Hunter’s Point South Park, Sunset (around 8:15 p.m.)

(Hosted by: Cinema LIC)

Sunday, September 8: Creed II

Where: Randall’s Island Park, 7:30 p.m.

(Hosted by: Outdoor Movie Night)

Featured image: Facebook / Socrates Sculpture Park


Also published on Medium.