NYC’s Stay-At-Home Order Has Been Extended To May 28

Claire Leaden Claire Leaden

NYC’s Stay-At-Home Order Has Been Extended To May 28

Governor Cuomo put an executive order into place late last night, May 14, extending the stay-at-home order until at least May 28 for regions who do not meet certain metrics, which includes New York City.

This means that non-essential workers must continue to stay home and that social distancing rules will remain in place (only leave home for essentials and be sure to stay at least six feet away from others). The original PAUSE “stay at home” order first went into effect on March 20, and was extended on April 16 to May 15.

“PAUSE” has ended today for certain regions of New York State, which may begin reopening certain industries. As a reminder, the Governor set seven requirements that each region of New York must meet to begin the reopening process (see them here).

Areas that can begin reopening today (they meet 7/7 requirements) include:

  • The Finger Lakes
  • Central New York
  • The Southern Tier
  • The Mohawk Valley
  • North County

That leaves five regions that still have not met the requirements (including NYC), which means their stay-at-home order is extended through at least May 28. “The others can be UN-PAUSED the moment they hit their benchmarks,” he Tweeted.

New York City still has only met 4/7 benchmarks. You can stay up to date on how close we are to reopening here, which is continually updated. The other regions for which stay-at-home has been extended include: Long Island, Mid-Hudson, Western New York, and the Capitol Region.

The order also extended New York’s State of Emergency through June 13, which “extends the underlying legal authority for the Emergency Order.”

featured image source: Shutterstock

Top News