The iconic landmark building dates back to the late 1880s and stands as a symbol of America’s Industrial Revolution and old New York. At one point in time, the property covered 11 acres and housed 14 structures specifically for the production of sugar.
Construction of the refinery took place between 1882-1884 after parts of the original facility caught on fire. In the reconstruction, Havenmeyer utilized new fireproof and structural technologies. As a result, the building was revered for its cutting-edge efficiency for its time. Fun fact: it was actually one of the first buildings to use electricity in Brooklyn!
During the time of operation, Domino Sugar Factory served as “a consistent economic engine of Brooklyn.” The business employed thousands of workers throughout its more than 120 year-run. However, by 2004 Domino Sugar Refinery closed down. The Refinery officially became a landmark site in 2007.
In October 2012, Two Tree Management purchased the site. The development company has since worked to revitalize the property for “a new age of workers” as a 460,000 square foot all-electric, net zero carbon emission office space.
And in celebration of the reopening, let’s take a walk down memory lane of its 100+ year history…